Where were you when…

Music has always been a big part of my life. I have my parents to thank for that, they had a great record collection and I remember my dad playing album after album. My mom was more into doo wop and my dad leaned a little more to the psychedelic side. I liked it all and as I grew older I started getting my own style. When I heard “jam on it” by newcleus that was it, I loved the beat and soon after I discovered U.T.F.O., Whodini, Run D.M.C. Etc. then I remember watching American bandstand and out comes this white rap group called The Beastie Boys. They did fight for your right and at that moment they became my favorite. My mom hated them. She threw that tape away several times! When I was 10th grade I started hanging out with some skater kids and started listening to punk/hardcore. I can’t tell you exactly what the first album was I heard because honestly it was a whirlwind. I do know Dead Kennedys was one of the first and I’m pretty sure it was the album frankenchrist. I remember where I was, school was dismissed early because it started snowing and my friend let me borrow his copy. I was still on the bus at the school when I put it in my Walkman. I rewound it, pushed play and when I heard the guitar on “soup is good food” I immediately loved it. Then Jello started singing, I had never heard anything like this! To this day I can evoke that same feeling sometimes when I play that album. It still reminds me of a cold snowy day. They were my favorite band for years after that. After that I couldn’t get enough of this music. I would read articles in thrasher magazines about bands or just look at album covers then go to the tape store. So much to buy! I can kill a couple hours in a record store no problem. I took chances on bands I didn’t know and mostly it worked. I really love hardcore so I started seeing how many songs were on the tape, then I would look at the tape to see how long it was. A lot of songs in 28 minutes?, ok I’m getting this. I don’t get that feeling as much now. I still discover new bands,composers, vocalists but the excitement is not as strong as it was then, or should I say it’s just different because I do enjoy finding a great band.That was my heyday and I’m okay with that. I hope to write more about my musical and artistic life journey, as any music lover knows there’s so many stops and passengers on the journey. I hope you enjoyed it, and bear with me as I’m tired and not a writer but hope to get better and entertain some of you with my thoughts. And please excuse the long run on paragraph! Maybe shouldn’t have wrote this before bed…

Leave a Reply

